Visit the Rock Eagle Effigy Mound in the small town of Eatonton, Georgia and get a glimpse of ancient history. This effigy mound dates back more than 2000 years. The community of Eatonton was founded in 1807 by both Native Americans and white settlers. Today, this effigy mound stands as a testament to its ancient past and is free to visit.
The Rock Eagle effigy mound is easily accessible from downtown Eatonton. To reach the site, drive along Rock Eagle Road (which is part of the Rock Eagle 4-H Center). The road will lead you to the Rock Eagle Effigy Mound. The entrance is clearly marked and the site is open to the public during normal business hours.
The effigy mound is built on top of a natural outcrop of rock. Its origins are uncertain, but some scholars believe the effigy mound was constructed as a central burial place. Today, the mound is managed by the University of Georgia and adjacent land is used for environmental education and 4-H camp activities.
The Rock Eagle Effigy Mound is one of Georgia’s oldest archaeological sites. It is believed to have been constructed around 2,000 years ago by an indigenous tribe. It is eight feet high and 100 feet wide. It is also listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Archaeologists discovered the mound in 1938 and preserved it. They also found non-indigenous clays on the mound. This suggests that the materials used to build the mound were brought from other places. It is estimated that the mound was once a major site for Native Americans.